4 cities have been finalized to host PSL 9

Cities have been finalized to host PSL 9

PSL 9: According to the proposed schedule, the first match will be played on February 18 in Lahore; Zalmi insists on matches in Peshawar.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has decided to hold the ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League in four cities, including Lahore, Karachi, Rawalpindi, and Multan. In the proposed schedule, the first match is set for February 18 in Lahore. However, some franchisees have expressed concerns about the timing, citing cold weather and fog as possible obstacles.

One point of contention revolves around the proposed final to be held in Karachi on March 19. Teams are concerned that smaller crowds could affect ticket revenue. In response, the Multan Sultans suggested hosting the final in Multan, expressing confidence in attracting enough fans to fill the stadium.

Sources further revealed that Peshawar Zalmi is continuously advocating for matches to be held in Peshawar and insisting that the construction work on the stadium will be completed in two months.
However, the PCB has yet to take any decision on including Peshawar among the host cities.

There are also objections to scheduling double shifts during the holy month of Ramadan in March. PCB plans to release the schedule on December 13 during the PSL 9 preliminary event. It should be noted that due to the general elections in the country, there was a proposal to move the PSL 9 to the UAE, but the PCB has finally decided to hold the entire event in Pakistan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *